Skip to main content
Energy HealingResources

Main 7 Chakras of the Human body

By April 24, 2021August 3rd, 2022No Comments

There are seven main chakras in the human body, which start at the base of your spine and extend to the top of your head. Below will provide a brief overview of each chakra and the characteristics associated with same.

First (Base or Root) Chakra

This chakra is all about our connection to earth and is located at the base of the spine. Its color is red. The governing gland of this chakra is the adrenals and its ruling planet is Mars. This chakra represents our feeling of safety and survival instinct. Its element is earth. You are able to connect to the earth simply by walking barefoot in the grass, sitting against a tree or walking in nature.

Physical problems of the root chakra may include eating disorders, adrenal insufficiency, rectal or colon cancer, spinal problems, immune related disorders and bone disorders. With distortion in first chakra you may also experience being accident prone.

Second (Sacral) Chakra

This chakra is located just below the navel and is connected to our sensuality, sexuality and creativity. Its color is orange. The governing glands for the second chakra is the reproductive organs. Its ruling planet is Venus. This chakra is about emotion, nurturance, self care, and connection to others. The main element of the second chakra is water. Spending time close to bodies of water or taking a shower can be beneficial in balancing this chakra.

Imbalances in the second chakra can manifest physical issues such as sexual dysfunction, inflammatory bowel disease and other bowel conditions including Crohn’s disease, diverticulitis, and ulcerative colitis, as well as chronic low back pain, sciatica, and bladder issues. In men it can cause prostate problems and in women dysfunction in this chakra can cause fibroids, endometriosis, pelvic inflammatory disease, menstrual dysfunction, ovarian cysts or cancer.

Third (Solar Plexus) Chakra

The third chakra is located in our solar plexus. This chakra is connected to our personal power and our ability to stand in it as well as our sense of self. Its color is yellow. The pancreas governs the third chakra and is ruled by the Sun . The main element of this chakra is fire. Spending time in the sun is able to assist in charging this chakra, increasing vitality, energy and connection to self.

Physical problems that may present are digestive difficulties, problems with the pancreas including diabetes, liver problems including cirrhosis, hepatitis and liver cancer. Other issues may include hiatal hernias, gallstones, hemorrhoids, varicose veins and problems with the spleen.

Fourth (Heart) Chakra

The fourth chakra (heart) is the bridge between the lower 3 chakras and the higher 3 chakras. Our heart is the life giver. This chakra is related to unconditional love, forgiveness and surrender. Its color is green. The gland governing the heart chakra is the thymus and is ruled by the Moon. The main element of the heart chakra is air. You can open your heart chakra by spending time with loved ones and pets as well as being of service.

When we have a distorted heart chakra, physical problems that may arise are congestive heart failure, heart attack, chest pain, problems with arteries, vascular insufficiency and circulation problems. The lungs can be affected by asthma, shortness of breath, allergies, lung cancer, bronchitis, emphysema, and pneumonia. Immune system deficiencies, tension or pain between the shoulder blade, as well as shoulder, arm and hand issues such as carpal tunnel can also present in this chakra when unbalanced.

Fifth (Throat) Chakra

The characteristic of this chakra is authentic expression, in essence, speaking your truth. Its color is blue and its main element is ether. This chakra is situated in the throat. Its governing gland is the thyroid and is ruled by the planet Mercury. Activities to open this chakra include speaking, singing and writing.

Physical issues that may arise are TMJ, swollen glands in the throat, throat cancer, neck problems, chronic childhood tonsillitis, thyroid cancer, Hashimoto’s, Grave’s disease, chronic sinus problems and any other disorder of the throat, voice, mouth, teeth or gums.

Sixth (Third eye) Chakra

This chakra is located mid forehead, between your eyes. This chakra is what governs intuition and guidance, and about living in a purposeful way. Its color is purple. The main element of the 6th chakra is light. The main governing gland is the pineal gland and its ruling planet is Saturn . You can balance this chakra by spending time in meditation, prayer and being aware of your dreams.

Physical problems associated with the sixth chakra can include headaches, upper or frontal sinus conditions, neurological disturbances, bad eyesight, glaucoma, cataracts, macular degeneration and blindness. Other issues may also include stroke, hemorrhage and brain tumors.

Seventh (Crown) Chakra

Our seventh chakra is our connection to the Divine and is located on top of the head. Its color is white or gold. The main governing gland is the pituitary and its ruling planet is Jupiter. We can increase our crown connection through meditation, communion with nature and prayer.

Physical issues that may arise with a dysfunctional seventh chakra include anxiety, depression, bipolar disorder, coma, amnesia, headache or migraine, stroke, brain tumor, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease, Attention Deficit Disorder, Cognitive delusions, ALS, mental illness such as schizophrenia and multiple personality disorder as well as dementia or Alzheimer’s disease.

Bringing our energetic body into balance

Energy healing may assist in bringing balance to mind, body and spirit by clearing, balancing and charging the seven main chakras.

Book a Session